Please note: Academic Council registration is valid from September - August of each academic year. Academic Council’s must re-register every academic year. 

Council Registration

  • A Councillor must be a Regular Member of the Association.
  • Each Academic Unit may only have one Academic Council.
  • The number of Councillors for an Academic Council is determined by the Voting Councillor Allocation.
  • An Alternate Councillor must be a Regular Member of the Association and a member of their respective Academic Council.
  • Each Academic Council may register Alternate Councillors.
  • Councillors may send an existing registered Alternate Councillor in their place.
  • Alternate Councillors shall be vested with the voting and speaking rights of the Councillor they are replacing.

The duties of a Councillor shall include but are not limited to:

  • Representing their Academic Council;
  • Attending GSA Council Meetings;
  • Serving on Association Committees;
  • Ensuring the well­being of the Association; and,
  • Being familiar with all governing documents including the Non­Profit Corporation Act, 1995, Roberts Rules of Order, the Constitution, By­laws, and Policies.

To apply, please fill this form .

Please attach a void cheque as well as the constitution of your Academic Council to this application.

The form and all attachments must be submitted or mailed to the GSA main office:

Attention: GSA President

1337 College Dr, Saskatoon, SK, S7N 0W6

Monday-Friday 9:00 AM – 7:30 PM

Please Note: Academic Councillors who are unable to attend a meeting and who do not have alternates to attend on their behalf must notify the GSA Chair (

The 2019 - 2020 Council meetings will be held at 5:00 PM in the GSA Commons, unless otherwise indicated.
  • June 18, 2019
  • August 13, 2019
  • September 24
  • October 15
  • November 5
  • December 3
  • January 28
  • February 25
  • March 17
  • April 7
  • April 14 (potential AGM)
Academic Council Department/College Representative  
AREC Agriculture & Resource Economics

Yerebakia Choro

Ran Sun (Alternate)

Animal & Poultry Science Grad Students' Assoc. Animal & Poultry Science

Brittany Ross

Tess Mills (Alternate)

ARCHAIA Archaelogy and Antrhopology

Aine Dolin

Adrienne Ratushniak (Alternate)

Art & Art History Grad Student Council Art & Art History

Rachel Broussard

Gale Hagblom (Alternate)

Biology Graduate Students' Association (BGSA) Biology

Dylan Baloun

Carmen Marquez Mellidez (Alternate)

Chemistry Course Council Chemistry

Doug Fansher

Richard Pettipas (Alternate)

College of Medicine Graduate Student Society College of Medicine

Kushagra Parolia (Anatomy, Physiology & Pharmacology)

Sarah Martin (Alternate)

Kusum Sharma (Biochemistry, Microbiology & Immunology)

Mamata Panigrahi (Alternate)

Jacob Alhassan (Community Health & Epidemiology)

Liliana Rodriguez (Alternate)

Chelsea Cunningham (Health Sciences)

Scott Adams (Alternate)

Computer Science Graduate Course Council (CSGCC) Computer Science

Rifat Zahan

Parastoo Veisi

Tonny Kar (Alternate)

Kawser Nafi (Alternate)

MBARC Edwards' School of Business

Tyler Gray

Alli Sparling (Alternate)

Engineering Graduate Community Council (EGCC) Engineering

Saman Naghieh (Biomedical)

Ejalonibu Hammed (Alternate)

Khaled Zoroufchi Benis (Chemical)

Bicheng Xing (Mechanical)

Stephen Owuamanam (Alternate)

Ozan Gunes (Electrical)

Jose Alvin Berkenbrock (Alternate)

Graduate Geological Society (GGS) Geology

Brittany Laing

James Schulte (Alternate)

Geography & Planning Graduate Council Geography & Planning

Bethany Thiessen

Apeksha Heendeniya (Alternate)

History Graduate Student Committee History

Derek Cameron

Mckelvey Kelly (Alternate)

Johnson Shoyama Graduate Students' Association Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy

Susmitha Rallabandi

Gebeyehu Abate (Alternate)

College of Kinesiology Graduate Student Executive Kinesiology

Natasha Boyes

Natalie Houser (Alternate)

Pharmacy & Nutrition Graduate Students' Council Pharmacy & Nutrition

Lina Kharabsheh

Riley Devine (Alternate)

Physical Therapy Student Society (PTSS) School of Rehabilitation Sciences

Kyla Collins

Katrin Ritchie (Alternate)

Psychology Graduate Students' Association Psychology

Sarah Mohammed

Farron Wielinga (Alternate)

PEGASUS Physics & Engineering Physics

Alex Chang

Ethan Runge (Alternate)

PSGSA Plant Sciences Hu Wang
School of Environment & Sustainability Students' Assoc. (SENSSA) School of Environment & Sustainability

Peter Friedrichsen

Laila Balkhi

Belizario Carballo (Alternate)

Yvonne Ruhumbika (Alternate)

School of Public Health Students' Association School of Public Health

Britanie Thomas

Chiamaka Ezekwesili

Alejandra Fonesca (Alternate)

Soil Science Graduate Student Association

Soil Science

Jennifer Bell

Aimee Schryer (Alternate)

Toxicology Graduate Students' Association Toxicology

Stephanie Graves

Abby Debofsky(Alternate)

Western College of Veterinary Medicine GSA Western College of Veterinary Medicine

Breanne Murray

Narsimha Pujari (Alternate)