Council Registration

  • A Councillor must be a Member of the Association.
  • Each academic unit may have only one Academic Council.
  • The number of Councillors for an Academic Council is determined by the Voting Councillor Allocation.
  • An Alternate Councillor must be a Member of the Association and a member of their respective Academic Council.
  • Each Academic Council may register Alternate Councillors.
  • Councillors may send an existing registered Alternate Councillor in their place.
  • Alternate Councillors shall be vested with the voting and speaking rights of the Councillor they are replacing.

The duties of a Councillor shall include but are not limited to:

  • Representing their Academic Council;
  • Attending all Council Meetings;
  • Serving on Association Committees;
  • Ensuring the well­being of the Association; and,
  • Being familiar with all governing documents including the Non­Profit Corporation Act, 1995, Roberts Rules of Order, the Constitution, By­laws, and Policies.

To apply, please fill this form and attach a copy of your Academic Council constitution and a void cheque.

Submit the form and the required documents to the GSA Main Office (1337 College Dr, Saskatoon, SK, S7N 0W6) during working hours, Monday-Friday 9:00 AM – 7:30 PM. Attention: GSA President

Please Note: Academic Councillors who are unable to attend a meeting and who do not have alternates to attend on their behalf must notify the GSA Chair (

Academic Council Department/College Representative  
ARCHAIA Archaelogy and Antrhopology Marissa Evans 
Megan Poole (Alternate)
Biology Graduate Students' Association (BGSA) Biology Carmen Marquez-Mellidez
Karolina Pusz-Bochenska (Alternate)
College of Medicine Graduate Student Society Medicine Zoe Gillespie
Joshua Pickering (Alternate)
Chemistry Course Council Chemistry Douglas Fansher
Tyler Morhart (Alternate)
Computer Science Graduate Course Council (CSGCC) Computer Science Morgan Kirzinger
Tony Kar
Parastoo Veisi (Alternate)
Rifat Zahan (Alternate)
EMBARC Edwards' School of Business Troy Shapley
Animal and Poultry Science Animal and Poultry Science Janelle Smith
English Course Council English Banjo Olaleye
Federica Giannelli

Engineering Graduate Community Council (EGCC) Engineering Azar Khorsandi (Biological)

Shailza Sapal (Civil & Geological)

Jose Alvim Berkenbrock (Electrical)

Olamide Oriola (Electrical, Alternate)

Reza Pourazizi (Mechanical)

Nazmul Hossain (Mechanical, Alternate)

Sudipo Mondol (Biomedical)

Saman Naghieh (Biomedical, Alternate)

Afolabi Ayeni (Chemical)

Tolulope Snish (Chemical, Alternate)

Graduate Geological Society (GGS) Geology Luc Chabanole

Brittany Laing

Geography & Planning Graduate Council Geography & Planning Bethany Thiessen

Stephanie Streich

History Graduate Student Committee History John Bird

Olivia Bird

Indigenous Graduate Students' Council (IGSC) N/A Indiana Best

Marie-Eve Presber

Jordan Adilman (Alternate)

Microbiology and Immunology Graduate Students Association (MCIMGSA)

College of Medicine

Mamata Panigrahi
Amanda Galas-Wilson (Alternate)
Johnson Shoyama Graduate Students' Association Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy Lori Wareham
Nadia Hoosain (Alternate)
College of Kinesiology Graduate Student Executive Kinesiology Natasha Boyes
Jocelyn Blouin (Alternate)
Pharmacy & Nutrition Graduate Students' Council Pharmacy & Nutrition Mona Hamada
Se'era Anstruther
Psychology Graduate Students' Association Psychology Evan Poncelet
Farron Wielinga
PEGASUS Physics & Engineering Physics Jason Ho
Lindsay Goodwin (Alternate)
Ethan Runge (Alternate)
Plant Science Graduate Students' Association Plant Sciences Surendra Bhattarai

Caio Taveira (Alternate)
School of Environment & Sustainability Students' Association School of Environment & Sustainability Viktoria Hinz
Michelle Wauchope-Thompson
Palash Sanyal (Alternate)

Ashleigh Duffy (Alternate)

School of Public Health Student Association School of Public Health Jovey Sharma
Chelsea Bodoe (Alternate)
Sociology Graduate Students' Association Sociology Kirby Brigden
Alhassan Alhassan (Alternate)

Soil Science Graduate Student Association

Soil Science

Kathlyne Hyde
Landon Sealey (Alternate)
Serena Klippenstein (Alternate)
Aimee Schryer (Alternate)
Toxicology Graduate Students' Association Toxicology Katherine Raes
Stephanie Graves (Alternate)
Western College of Veterinary Medicine GSA Western College of Veterinary Medicine Arinjay Banerjee
Caroline Malgrain
Salahudin Khan (Alternate)

The 2017-2018 council meetings will be held at 5pm in the GSA Commons, unless otherwise indicated. 

  • June 28, 2017
  • August 1, 2017
  • September 26, 2017
  • October 26, 2017
  • November 21, 2017
  • January 30, 2018
  • February 27, 2018
  • March 20, 2018
  • April 17, 2018