Please note: Academic Council registration is valid from September - August of each academic year. Academic Council’s must re-register every academic year. 

Council Registration

  • A Councillor must be a Regular Member of the Association.
  • Each Academic Unit may only have one Academic Council.
  • The number of Councillors for an Academic Council is determined by the Voting Councillor Allocation.
  • An Alternate Councillor must be a Regular Member of the Association and a member of their respective Academic Council.
  • Each Academic Council may register Alternate Councillors.
  • Councillors may send an existing registered Alternate Councillor in their place.
  • Alternate Councillors shall be vested with the voting and speaking rights of the Councillor they are replacing.

The duties of a Councillor shall include but are not limited to:

  • Representing their Academic Council;
  • Attending GSA Council Meetings;
  • Serving on Association Committees;
  • Ensuring the well­being of the Association; and,
  • Being familiar with all governing documents including the Non­Profit Corporation Act, 1995, Roberts Rules of Order, the Constitution, By­laws, and Policies.

To apply, please fill this form .

Please attach a void cheque as well as the constitution of your Academic Council to this application.

The form and all attachments must be submitted or mailed to the GSA main office:

Attention: GSA President

1337 College Dr, Saskatoon, SK, S7N 0W6

Monday-Friday 9:00 AM – 7:30 PM

Please Note: Academic Councillors who are unable to attend a meeting and who do not have alternates to attend on their behalf must notify the GSA Chair (

The 2019 - 2020 Council meetings will be held at 5:00 PM in the GSA Commons, unless otherwise indicated.
  • June 18, 2019
  • August 13, 2019
  • September 24, 2019
  • October 15, 2019
  • November 5, 2019
  • December 3, 2019
  • January 28, 2020
  • February 25, 2020
  • March 17, 2020
  • April 7, 2020
  • April 14 (potential AGM), 2020
Academic Council Department/College Representative  
Executive ARE Graduate Student Assocation Agricultural & Resource Economics/College of Agriculture & Bioresources

Ran Sun

Valentina Ofori (Alternate)

Animal & Poultry Science Grad Students' Assoc. Animal & Poultry Science

Muhhammad Imran

Kiana Rieger (Alternate)

Iris Ho Cheang (Alternate)

Cassidy Sim (Alternate)

ARCHAIA Archaelogy and Antrhopology

Kali Sielsky

Brandon Halyk (Alternate)

Devon Hackett (Alternate)

Zoe Slusar (Alternate)

Art & Art History 



Biology Graduate Student Association Arts & Science

Ruth Greuel

Carmen Marquez (Alternate)

Andrea Wishart (Alternate)

Chemistry Course Council Chemistry

Naheda Sahtout

Douglas Fansher (Alternate)

College of Medicine Graduate Student Society College of Medicine


Computer Science Graduate Council (CSGC) Computer Science

Rifat Zahan

Muhammad Aminul Islam (Alternate)

Engineering Graduate Community Council (EGCC) Engineering
English Course Council English

Tristan Taylor

Jillian Baker (Alternate)

Kyle Dase (Alternate)

Sheheryar Sheikh (Alternate)

Geography & Planning Grad Council Geography & Planning

Warrick Bajius

Selena Schut (Alternate)

Renata Leonhardt (Alternate)

Sonia Bataebo (Alternate)

Graduate Geological Society (GGS) Geology

James Schulte

Brayden McDonald (Alternate)

Courtney Onstad (Alternate)

Drake Meeili (Alternate)

Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy Students' Association School of Public Policy

Manreet Kaur Nehal

Syed Adnan Khalid (Alternate)

Niaz Farhan Haque (Alternate)

Tulika Sen (Alternate)

Nuru Nyoni (Alternate)

Kinesiology Graduate Student Council Kinesiology

Natasha Boyes

Natalie Houser (Alternate)

PEGASUS Physics & Engineering Physics

Alex Chang

Kimberlee Dube (Alternate)

Ethan Runge (Alternate)

Pharmacy & Nutrition Graduate Students' Council Pharmacy & Nutrition

Mujtaba Badr

Se'era Anstruther (Alternate)

Janine Rover (Alternate)

Jay Kim (Alternate)

Amir Khajavinia (Alternate)

Physical Therapy Student Society (PTSS) School of Rehabilitation Sciences

Laura Stewart

Haley Enns (Alternate)

Cassidy Welygan (Alternate)

Japjee Minhas (Alternate)

Jory Meyer (Alternate)

Alex Schell (Alternate)

Kris Yanke (Alternate)

Kira Tufts (Alternate)

Plant Sciences GSA Plant Sciences

Berenice Romero

Ana Vargas Palacios (Alternate)

Zelalem Mengiste Taye (Alternate)

Maria Oviedo-Ludena (Alternate)

Amanda Fedorchuk (Alternate)

Olakorede Kanmi-Obembe (Alternate)

Mengying Liu (Alternate)

Asanka Godakanda (Alternate)

Matthew Wengler (Alternate)

Surendra Bhattarai (Alternate)

Psychology Graduate Students' Association Psychology

Josh Katz

Giovanni Quartararo (Alternate)

Brandon Sparks (Alternate)

Alexandra Zidenberg (Alternate)

Shannah Dutrisac (Alternate)

Farron Wielinga (Alternate)

Sociology GSA


Connor Morrison

Cerah Dube (Alternate)

Maria Cruz (Alternate)

Alexandria Pavelich (Alternate)

Soil Science Graduate Student Association

Soil Science

Aimee Schryer

Jennifer Bell (Alternate)

Trang Nguyen (Alternate)

Lauren Reynolds (Alternate)

Toxicology Graduate Students' Association Toxicology

Mikayla Oldach

Alana Weber (Alternate)

Phillip Ankley (Alternate)

Alex Vien (Alternate)

Jensen Cherewyk (Alternate)

Maira Peixoto Mendes (Alternate)

Carly Colville (Alternate)

Susari Irugal Bandaralage (Alternate)

Dan April (Alternate)

Andrea Wade (Alternate)

Western College of Veterinary Medicine GSA Western College of Veterinary Medicine

Breanne Murray

Andrea Kinnear (Alternate)

Zeyad El Karsh (Alternate)